Australian Soundscapes

$20 plus $3 postage & packaging

John Packham (Yidaki soloist), Anna Pope (Musical Director), Rachel Sag, Raphela Mazzone, Sarah Bleby, Saam Thorne, Rosemary Byron-Scott, Fiona O'Connor, Tim Muecke, Bernard Mageean, Chris Gunter, Clive Conway, Kenneth Pope, James Cowling

Soul Song Sarah Hopkins 8:01
Dawn Song Diana Sautelle 4:56
Red Earth Stephen Leek 4:34
Nullabor Anna Pope 1:43
Endless Sky Anna Pope 1:30

Anna Pope

Kangaroo/Homage Anna Pope 4:05
Enigma Australis Anna Pope 2:47
Cries and Whispers Stephen Leek 6:43
Hope there is Clare Maclean 4:58
The salt pan Anna Pope 5:58
The waiting game Anna Pope 1:34

Clare Maclean

Berry Springs Rachel Sag 4:33
Ubirr Rock Rachel Sag 5:47
Hymn to Cooinda Rachel Sag 3:38
Kata Tjuta Rachel Sag 4:13
Kondalilla Stephen Leek 5:36


This Australian Soundscapes CD comprises live recordings from Lumina's highly acclaimed performances at the 2009 Adelaide Fringe Festival.  Australian Soundscapes superimposes and blends people, places and musical styles to conjure up a panorama of Australia today, with particular emphasis on the cultural and spiritual environment of the original inhabitants and ways it is maintained.

We are particularly grateful for the participation and assistance of John Packham and Diana Sautelle. Their expertise and cultural understanding enables the recording to represent a broad sweep of the Australian cultural range. We have tried to position ourselves as both blenders and blended in the process. When we acknowledge our place on the territory of traditional groups we offer our programme as a reflection on the complex superimposition of traditions and viewpoints that this involves.  We try to relate and to share, to adapt and to learn. The music is ours, but is meant to call on something that is common.